The Tufts Health Plan Foundation, Inc. (MA-NH-RI)

Project Name: MA-NH-RI Building a Regional Collaborative for Inter-Professional Education

Foundation/Lead Agency: The Tufts Health Plan Foundation, Inc. (MA-NH-RI)

Project Partners:
Project Funders:
In addition to the Tufts Health Plan Foundation, the project includes nine other funders from Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. These funding partners are:

  • Brown Alpert Medical School
  • Colby-Sawyer College Department of Nursing
  • The Edward J. and Virginia M. Routhier Foundation of Rhode Island
  • The Massachusetts Area Health Education Center
  • New Hampshire Area Health Education Center
  • The Rhode Island Center for Nursing Excellence
  • University of Rhode Island College of Pharmacy
  • University of Rhode Island College of Nursing
  • Rhode Island College School of Nursing
  • Project Partners:

  • MA Partnership: University of Massachusetts Worcester Graduate School of Nursing, the University of Massachusetts School of Medicine and the Family Health Center of Worcester
  • NH Partnership: Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Dartmouth Medical School, and Colby-Sawyer School of Nursing
  • RI Partnership: University of Rhode Island Colleges of Nursing and Pharmacy, the Rhode Island College Schools of Nursing and Social Work and the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
  • Project Leaders:

  • Anne Marie Boursiquot,King MBA: Tufts Health Plan Foundation, Inc.; AnneMarie_Boursiquot@tufts-health.com 617-972-1082
  • Maureen Sroczynski DNP (c), RN, Project Director: msrocz@aol.com: 508-285-7047
  • Each state partnership also has a leadership team including:
    MA-

  • Paulette Seymour-Route,PhD, RN- Nursing; paulette.seymour-route@umassmed.edu; 508-856-5758
  • Michael Kneeland, MD – Medicine; Michael.Kneeland@umassmed.edu
  • Miguel Olmedo, DNP, FNP-Family Health Center; Miguel.olmedofhcw@umassmed.edu
  • NH-

  • Ellen Ceppetelli, RN, MS, Nursing; Ellen.B.Ceppetelli@Hitchcock.org, 603-650-8891
  • Joseph O’Donnell, MD, Medicine; Joseph.F.O’Donnell@Dartmouth.edu
  • Gregg Ogrinc, MD, Medicine:Gregg.Ogrinc@dartmouth.edu
  • Susan Reeves, PhD, RN-Nursing: sreeves@colby-sawyer.edu
  • RI-

  • Dayle Joseph, EdD, RN, Nursing:dayle@uri.edu: 401-874-5300
  • Dr. Jane Williams, PhD,RN, Nursing: jwilliams@ric.edu: 401-456-9608
  • Phillip Gruppuso, MD Medicine:phillip_gruppuso@brown.edu
  • Ronald Jordan, RPh, Pharmacy: ronjordan@uri.edu
  • Susan Pearlmutter, PhD. Social Work: rpearlmutter@ric.edu
  • Brief Project Synopsis:
    Our project is designed to build on the recommendations of the recent Institute of Medicine report, The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health. This report recognizes that patients receive safer and higher quality care when health professionals work in inter-professional teams, communicate effectively, and clearly understand and value the roles and responsibilities of the various health professionals that comprise the team. Specifically, our project will create a regional collaborative for inter-professional education focused on developing and implementing interactive programs of shared learning, resources, curriculum, and an evaluation methodology across Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island.

    Project Goals and Objectives:
    The goals of this project are to:

  • Develop synergies among current nursing, medical and pharmacy and other health care providers, education programs and a variety of clinical practice sites across the continuum of care
  • Broaden the dialogue around inter-professional education
  • Evaluate the role of IPE in impacting the quality of care
  • Share best practices, outcomes and educational evaluation methodologies to further improve the quality of education and patient care within our three state region and the wider New England community.
  • This entry was posted in 2011 Grantee. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.